Pierian Study Club holds March meeting

  • Pierian Study Club holds March meeting
    Pierian Study Club holds March meeting

The Pierian Study Club held their March meeting in the beautiful home of member Kathleen Hawkins. The Cards and Flowers Committee composed of Anita Adams, Chairman, Linda Sloan and Kathy McEwen were hostesses for the event.

Members attending included Anita Adams, Brooke Bagley, Donna Baker, Celia Bell, Gail Bruner, Marcia Dyer, Kathleen Hawkins, Marjean Henderson, Karen Henson, Gale Ivy, Shelly Mahan, Ann McElroy, Kathy McEwen, Lynn McHenry, Kay Nettleship, Cydney Pearce, Linda Sloan, Marsha Smart, Audrey Smith, Kay Stowell, Becky Whitley, and Cissy Williams. Associate Member Bebe Bagley was also present.

Prior to the business meeting, a program was presented by Stephanie Falkner of Bloom’N’ Sprout nursery and landscaping. Stephanie handed out a pamphlet which featured her top 20 favorite Texas Superstar plants: annuals, perennials and specialty plants, recommended by Texas A&M Agrilife. She briefly described each plant giving details on which plants do well here in our county, what size the mature plant will be and if they require any special attention. At the end of her presentation a drawing was held and five lucky members received a beautiful plant to take home.

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, members were served sugar cookies with green frosting and shamrock shaped cookies as well. Salted pecans, grapes and a green lemonade punch were also served.

President Donna Baker opened the meeting. Short reports were made by Kathleen Hawkins, Treasurer; Shelly Mahan, Projects Committee; Celia Bell, Entertainment Committee and Kay Nettleship, Nominating Committee.

New officers to be installed were presented by Donna Baker, President. Officers for 2020-2021 are as follows: President, Marcia Dyer; First Vice President, Joanne Weik; Second Vice President, Shelly Mahan; Reporter, Gale Ivy; Historian, Sandy Smith; Parliamentarian, Donna Baker; Recording Secretary; Lynn McHenry and Treasurer; Kathleen Hawkins. Each new Director was presented with a long stem red rose by Ms. Baker.

The next meeting will be on April 9, 2020 when members will travel to Fredericksburg to visit and have lunch at the Herb Farms. Members were reminded to meet at the parking lot behind the JC Campbell & Co. Mercantile at 10:00 a.m.