Armadillos clinch 2nd straight District title

Edgar's picture
Armadillos clinch 2nd straight District title

The San Saba Armadillos (10-0, 5-0 district) defeated the DeLeon Bearcats (3-7, 2-3 in district) 54-7 last Friday evening. With their 10th win of the year, San Saba secured back to back District titles and became the 1st team to have consecutive undefeated regular seasons. The Bi-District round of the playoffs will see the Armadillos face off against the Riesel Indians (4-6) this Thursday at 7:00 in McGregor.

It took San Saba a little over a quarter and a half to get going, but once they did, they pulled away behind Senior quarterback Sean O’Keefe. O’Keefe accounted for 297 yards and 5 touchdowns (2 rushing 3 passing). RB Eli Salinas rushed for 113 yards and scored 3 times (1 rushing, 2 receiving). Receiver Logan Glover caught his 9th TD of the season and Risien Shahan and Wesley Lackey also found the end zone Friday night.

The defense once again played great and only gave up a touchdown late in the 4th quarter. Through 10 games, the defense has only allowed 44 points total this year. Leading the team in tackles this week was LB Landon Yarbrough with 27 (150 on the season), followed by LB Shahan with 17 tackles (113 total). Cole Bryant intercepted his 1st pass of the season and safety Logan Glover picked off his 7th of the season.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

Rate this article: 
No votes yet